Go to menu

Benjamin Britten

Simple Symphony for String Orchestra

Instrument line-up: String orchestra
Edition: Score
Composer: Benjamin Britten
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Publisher: Chester Music
Order no.: CH76384
ISBN: 9781849386869
Weight: 95 g
Pages: 36


This Simple Symphony is entirely based on material from works which the composer wrote between the ages of nine and twelve. (The actual sources are given in footnotes to each movement.) Although the development of these themes is in many places quite new, there are large stretches of the work which are taken bodily from the early pieces - save for the re-scoring for strings.

It is suitable for string quartets or string orchestras, being scored for Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello and Double Bass.

Table of contents:

Boisterous Bourrée
Frolicsome Finale
Playful Pizzicato
Sentimental Saraband

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: