Go to menu

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Horn Quintet in Eb major K. 407 (386c)

Instrument line-up: Horn, Violin, 2 Violas, and Cello
Edition: Study Score (Urtext)
Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

Minimum order value 10 € (Downloads 5 €)

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Key: Eb major
Opus: KV407
Publisher: Henle Verlag
Order no.: HN9826
ISMN: 9790201898261
Issuer: Henrik Wiese, Norbert Müllemann
Release: 25.02.2010
Weight: 82 g
Pages: 31


We not only owe three of Mozart's horn concertos to his friendship with Ignaz Leutgeb; the solo part of this unusual chamber music work was also written especially for him. Instead of having two violins, the accompanying string quartet has two violas, which complement the dark and warm timbre of the horn and lend the work a unique tonal effect. Echoes of motives from the 'Abduction from the Seraglio' allow us to suppose that it was composed around the same time as the Singspiel. As the autograph is missing, this edition is based on the first edition. In addition the critical apparatus provides a careful evaluation of the secondary sources, affording important insights into Mozart's intentions.?

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: