Go to menu

Morten Lauridsen

Lux Aeterna

SATB divisi with chamber orchestra or organ

Instrument line-up: Mixed Choir (SATB) and Chamber Orchestra
Opt. instrument line-up: Mixed Choir (SATB) and Organ
Edition: Organ Score
Composer: Morten Lauridsen
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Publisher: Faber Music
Order no.: 0571521541
ISBN: 9780571521548
Language: latin, english
Weight: 185 g
Pages: 52


Morten Lauridsen's setting of 'Lux aeterna' - a five-movement, non-liturgical requiem for choir and chamber orchestra/organ - is a rich and intensely moving work. Choral textures are fully explored, from the sonorous, slow unfolding of the 'Introitus' and the intricate counterpoint and paired voices of 'In te, Domine, speravi', to the cappella motet 'O nata lux' and spirited canticle 'Veni, Sancte Spiritus'. The last movement - a sublime 'Agnus Dei' preceding the final 'Lux aeterna' - closes with a joyous 'Alleluia' to provide an uplifting conclusion to this most powerful work. This beautiful choral arrangement, along with other Lauridsen favourites, has recently been released on Hyperion records (CDA67449)

Table of contents:

In te, Domine, speravi
O nata lux
Veni, Sancte Spiritus
Agnus Dei - Lux aeterna

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: