Go to menu

Jean Sibelius

Valse triste op. 44/1

from the Music to 'Kuolema' Op. 44

Instrument line-up: Orchestra
Edition: Score (Urtext)
Composer: Jean Sibelius
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Opus: 44/1
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Order no.: PB5704
ISMN: 9790004216415
Issuer: Timo Virtanen
Release: 31.08.2021
Term: 6:00 min
Weight: 106 g
Dimensions: 320x250 mm
Pages: 16


The famous Valse triste grew out of the incidental music to Arvid Järnefelts drama Kuolema (Death). After the first staged performances in December 1903 at the Finnish National Theater in Helsinki, Sibelius expanded the original string scoring by adding winds and timpani.

It is in this form that the work was first heard at the University of Helsinki's festival hall on 25 April 1904 under the direction of the composer before it set out to conquer the musical world.

Product reviews:

Overall Rating:

Order Edition: