Go to menu

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quartet c minor Op. 60

Instrument line-up: Piano Quartet
Edition: Set of Parts (Urtext)
Composer: Johannes Brahms
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Key: C minor
Opus: 60
Publisher: Henle Verlag
Order no.: HN285
ISMN: 9790201802855
Issuer: Hanspeter Krellmann
Release: 15.07.2002
Weight: 410 g
Pages: 92


Brahms' Third Piano Quartet stands out for the extremely involved and complex history of its genesis. A very first version of certain sections - still in c sharp minor - had been written in 1855/56, but neither the composer nor his friends were genuinely happy with this version. In 1869 Brahms reprised his work , but still found no satisfying solution. It was not until 1874/75 that he brought the final version to paper, replacing two movements of the original version with new ones. While the 'tragic' key of c minor points to the truly dark, passionate character of the work, the composer actually singled out the mood of suffering of the quartet himself in several letters.

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: