Go to menu

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

String Quintets Op. 18 and 87

Instrument line-up: String Quintet (2 Violins, 2 Violas, and Cello)
Edition: Set of Parts (Urtext)
Composer: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Publisher: Henle Verlag
Order no.: HN908
ISMN: 9790201809083
Issuer: Ernst Herttrich
Language: german, english, french
Release: 24.01.2012
Weight: 802 g
Pages: 214


The genesis of Mendelssohn's string quintets is closely connected to his friend Eduard Rietz and the latter's brother Julius. Deeply affected by Eduard's death in 1832, Mendelssohn exchanged the 'Minuetto' movement in his A major Quintet op. 18, written six years previously, for a newly composed adagio. It was in this form that the work was finally sent to the publisher. The Quintet in B flat major was only published after Mendelssohn's death; numerous, unauthorized entries by Julius Rietz thus found their way into performance practice. An examination of the autograph allowed us to return the work to ist original form - the commentary contains detailed information on this.?

Table of contents:

Streichquintett A-dur op. 18
Streichquintett B-dur op. 87

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: