Go to menu

Michael Praetorius


Instrument line-up: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, 2 Bassoons, Counter Bassoon, Double Bass, Guitar, and Percussion
Edition: Score and Parts
Composer: Michael Praetorius
Difficulty level:
Available | ships within 5-9 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Arranger: Lawrence Dale Harper
Publisher: Amicus Auctoris Musikverlag
Order no.: AMAUC20172
Release: 01.01.2018


This modern performing edition of several of the most memorable dance tunes from the famous Terpsichore of Michael Praetorius accurately captures the sound and atmosphere of an original Renaissance wind band while using modern instrumentation. Expanded forms through repetition and variation give the original short pieces increased breadth and interest, and the variety of orchestral colors and creative percussion writing provide real zest to these wonderful dances. The transcription also seeks to capture the spirit of improvisation in Renaissance performance practice through the incorporation of written ornaments and diminutions characteristic of the 16th century. The seven dances provide a satisfying half of a concert on their own, or movements can be effectively mixed and matched at will to fit a particular occasion.

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: