Go to menu

Jacques Offenbach

Grand Concerto

Concerto militaire

Instrument line-up: Cello and Piano
Edition: Piano reduction with part(s)
Composer: Jacques Offenbach
Difficulty level:
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Arranger: Jean-Christophe Keck
Publisher: Bote & Bock
Order no.: BB3168
ISMN: 9790202531686
Release: 05.03.2008
Term: 00:45:00 min
Weight: 419 g
Pages: 108


In 1847, Offenbach wrote a large-scale concerto of no less than 45 minutes' duration for 'his' instrument, the violoncello. It combines the classical symphonic structure with the liveliness and elegant orchestration for which the master of the 'opéra-bouffe' is well known. The work got its epithet from the forceful third movement with its regular flashes of fanfare-like sounds which is totally different from the slow middle movement where the melodist Offenbach gives the solo instrument the opportunity of playing to the full.In its reconstructed complete form, the 'Grand Concerto' was performed in Paris in April 2004 for the first time. The present edition for violoncello and piano is suited for both studying the original work and giving concert performances.

Table of contents:

Allegro maestoso

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: