Go to menu

Best of Cello Classics

15 Famous Pieces for Violoncello and Piano

Instrument line-up: Cello and Piano
Opt. instrument line-up: Cello and Continuo
Edition: Score and Parts (Cello and Continuo)
Difficulty level:
printed version
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Series: Best of Classics
Publisher: Schott Musik
Order no.: ED21998
ISMN: 9790001199919
ISBN: 9783795749002
Issuer: Rainer Mohrs
Release: 15.10.2014
Weight: 608 g
Dimensions: 230x305 mm
Voice: Cello and Continuo
Pages: 160


Best of Cello Classics contains 15 popular performance pieces for cello and piano from four centuries. The Baroque works also contain a continuous bass part.

Apart from standard works and 'classics' such as the famous sonatas by Breval (C major), de Fesch (D minor), Vivaldi (E minor) or Saint-Saëns' The Swan from The Carnival of Animals, this volume also contains lesser known works, like Recercada primera by Ortiz, sonatas by Cirri and Romberg, as well as some charming little character pieces by Lee, Goltermann, Nölck and Trowell.

The majority of the works can, for the most part, be played in the first four positions. Some pieces containing a few notes in the neck positions are nevertheless easily playable as well.

Table of contents:

Recercada primera

Diego Ortiz

Sonata e-Moll

Antonio Vivaldi

Sonata d-Moll op. 8/3

Willem de Fesch

Sonata G-Dur

Giovanni Battista Cirri

Sonata C-Dur op. 40/1

Jean-Baptiste Bréval

Sonata e-Moll op. 38/1

Bernhard Romberg

Gavotte op. 112

Sebastian Lee

Marche funèbre op. 97/2

Georg Goltermann

Le Cygne (Der Schwan)
aus: Le Carnaval des animaux, No. 13

Camille Saint-Saëns

Chanson triste op. 40/2

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky

Sonatina c-Moll op. 48/1

Julius Klengel

Legende op. 116/4
aus: 10 Originalstücke op. 116

August Nölck

Capriccietto op. 116/9
aus: 10 Originalstücke op. 116

August Nölck

Arioso op. 4/7
aus: 12 Morceaux faciles op. 4, Heft 3

Arnold Trowell

Chanson villageoise op. 4/11

Arnold Trowell

Product reviews:

Overall Rating:

Order single title: