Go to menu

Jean Sibelius

Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

Instrument line-up: Orchestra
Edition: Score
Composer: Jean Sibelius
Available | ships within 3-4 weeks

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Genre: Klassik
Publisher: Dover Publications
Order no.: 0486842215
ISBN: 9780486842219
Release: 01.01.2020
Pages: 176


The music of composer Jean Sibelius (1865 1957) is often credited with helping Finland form a national identity in its struggle for independence from Russia. Inspired by nature and Nordic mythology, his works include seven symphonies as well as tone poems and choral music. Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104, is a "poem within the framework of a symphony, " and Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105, is a one-movement "symphonic fantasy. " Conductor Osma Vänskä, a noted interpreter of the composer's music, observed that "Number Six is autobiographical. An aging man feels his own incapacity. The ideals are there, but he cannot reach them. The Seventh forms a pair with the Sixth, but it is not autobiographical. Number Seven is sacred music. " Reprinted from authoritative sources, this edition offers musicians and music lovers a sturdy, single volume of Sibelius's last symphonies.

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: