Go to menu

Gioacchino Rossini

Stabat Mater


Instrument line-up: Solo Parts (SSTB), Mixed Choir (SSTB), and Orchestra
Opt. instrument line-up: Solo Parts (SSTB), Mixed Choir (SATB), and Orchestra
Edition: Piano Reduction
Composer: Gioacchino Rossini
Difficulty level:
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Publisher: Carus-Verlag
Order no.: CV70089-03
ISMN: 9790007083366
Language: latin, german, english
Release: 28.02.1993
Term: 66:00 min
Weight: 248 g
Dimensions: 270x190 mm
Pages: 88


Following his early departure from the opera stage in 1829, besides chamber music Gioachino Rossini composed only larger scored works of church music. The Stabat Mater is among these. It was composed in two different phases between 1831 and 1841 and received its premiere in Paris in 1842. The text is fashioned as a prayer describing Mary?s pain in the face of the crucified Christ. Time and again the vivid language of this text, a Latin poem probably from the 13th century, has inspired settings by composers including illustrious names such as Pergolesi, Joseph Haydn and Verdi. In 10 movements Rossini unites different forms such as aria, duet, quartet and chorus, an operatic aria-like style of writing as well as a strict a cappella style resulting in one of the highpoints of this genre.

Product reviews:

Overall Rating:

Order Edition: