Go to menu

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 3 Eb Major Op. 55


Instrument line-up: Orchestra
Edition: Study Score
Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
printed version
In stock | ships within 1-2 working days

Limit: Piece

not available in all countries.

Learn more >

At a glance:

Arranger: Richard Clarke
Key: Eb major
Opus: OP55
Publisher: Edition Eulenburg
Order no.: ETP405
ISMN: 9790200203424
ISBN: 9783795766399
Language: german, english
Release: 31.12.1986
Weight: 281 g
Pages: 188


'So he too is nothing more than an ordinary man. [...] he will place himself above everyone else and become a tyrant!' is what Beethoven is said to have shouted full of rage when Napoleon had declared himself emperor, and supposedly tore the title page of Symphony No. 3 headed 'Bonaparte' to pieces. Despite his anger, however, the work was again headed 'Bonaparte' when he wanted to publish it in 1804. But it was the first edition of 1806 which finally bore the title of Sinfonia eroica. Symphony No. 3 was Beethoven's first work in which he had come to terms with his progressing deafness and left the boundaries of the musical conventions far behind.

Table of contents:

I. Allegro con brio
II. Marcia funebre. Adagio assai
III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
IV. Finale. Allegro molto

Product reviews:

Overall Rating: